Texas’ Interagency Coordinating Group

In 2009, the Texas Legislature passed legislation creating an Interagency Coordinating Group (ICG) of state agencies charged with improving the working relationship between faith-based and community organizations and state government. In 2011, the ICG was expanded to include even more state agencies. The head of each agency, in consultation with the Office of the Governor, designated a high-level liaison to serve on the Interagency Coordinating Group.  The ICG quarterly meetings are posted in the Federal Register and are open to the public.  For more information on working with state agencies, please see “Partnering with State Agencies” and “What is this Initiative?”

State Agency Faith & Community Liaisons Serving on the ICG

Department of Aging and Disability Services
Holly Riley, Aging Services Coordiantion

Department of Agriculture
Catherine Wright-Steele, Governmental Affairs Director

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
David Hagerla, Director, Medical and Social Services Cross-Division Coordination

Department of Family and Protective Services
Lesley Guthrie, Senior Volunteer & Community Engagement Specialist

Department of Information Resources

Department of State Health Services
Ricardo "Ricky" Garcia, Center for Policy and External Affairs

Health and Human Services Commission
Valerie Eubert, Acting Senior Policy Advisor

Office of the Attorney General
Amanda Sanders, Outreach Director

Office of Secretary of State
Vincent Houston, Director of Administrative Services

Office of State-Federal Relations
Jerry Strickland

Institution of Higher Education
Dr. Molly Beth Malcolm, Vice President Community Engagement and Public Affairs – Austin Community College

Office of the Comptroller
Sumer Perkins, State of Texas Co-op Purchasing Program – Statewide Procurement Divisions  

Office of the Governor
Ben Taylor, Deputy Outreach Director

Public Utility Commission of Texas
Gabriel Cardenas, Customer Information & Education Coordinator

Texas State Commission on National and Community Service
Elizabeth Darling, CEO – OneStar Foundation

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Mr. Chris Gobert, Procurements Unit

Texas Department of Criminal Justice
Marvin Dunbar, Rehabilitation Programs

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Elizabeth Yevich, Director – Housing Resource Center

Texas Department of Insurance
Melissa Hamilton

Texas Department of Public Safety
Nim Kidd, Assistant Director – Emergency Management

Texas Juvenile Justice Department
Tammy T. Holland, CVA, Manager – Family, Community, and Chaplaincy Programs

Texas Veterans Commission
Charlie Cato, Director – Fund for Veterans Assistance

Texas Workforce Commission
Phyllis Coombes, Strategic Workforce Initiatives Department, Workforce Development Division