Robb School Memorial Fund

Donate now to support the families and community affected by the tragedy at Robb Elementary School.  All donations will be held locally at First State Bank of Uvalde through the Robb School Memorial Fund. LEARN MORE >

Texas Nonprofit Council

Advising the state on faith-based & community initiatives

Nonprofits have unique insight into the needs and experiences of Texans and are an important voice for local communities.

The Texas Nonprofit Council is comprised of up to twelve leaders from the nonprofit sector who provide front-line perspective and insight to state agencies, as authorized by the Texas Legislature in Senate Bill 993 (2013 R). Council members are appointed by the Texas Governor and meet regularly, often in coordination with the Interagency Coordinating Group, to direct their work and help to fulfill joint requirements.

If you are interested in strengthening Texas and the nonprofit sector by serving on the Texas Nonprofit Council, we encourage you to learn more and access application materials at the Office of the Texas Governor’s Appointments page.

The duties of the Texas Nonprofit Council include:

  • Making recommendations for improving contracting relationships between state agencies and faith-based & community organizations
  • Developing best practices for cooperating and collaborating with faith-based & community organizations
  • Identifying and addressing duplication of services provided by the state and faith-based & community organizations
  • Identifying and addressing gaps in state services that faith-based & community organizations could fill.


  • Kile Bateman (Wichita Falls) (Vice Chair)
    Senior Pastor, Evangel Church
    Director, Family First Orphan Care
    Founder, Phased IN
  • Sereniah Breland (Pflugerville)
    City Manager, City of Pflugerville
    President, Texas City Management Association
  • Deborah Healey Drago (Beaumont)
    Industrial Account Executive, Entergy Texas, Inc.
  • Fedora Galasso (Austin)
    Executive Director, Texas Network of Youth Services
  • Jenifer Jarriel (Houston)
    President, DePelchin Children’s Center
  • Katherine “Kathy” Keane (San Angelo) (Secretary)
    Former Executive Director, Texas Midwest Community Network
  • Virginia “Ginny” Lewis Ford (Austin)
    Executive Director, Texas Association of Regional Councils
  • Kelty Garbee (Austin)
    Executive Director, Texas Rural Funders
  • Amy Ledbetter Parham (Buda) (Chair)
    Chief Executive Officer, Habitat for Humanity Texas
  • Phillipa Williams (Dallas)
    Executive Director, ilooklikeLOVE, Inc.
  • Carol Zernial (San Antonio)
    Executive Director, WellMed Charitable Foundation

Legislative Reports

The Texas Nonprofit Council reports to the Texas Legislature biannually in December when active. Check out previous reports for an inspiring look at how nonprofit leaders inform best practices in state agency collaborations with faith-based and community organizations.

For More Information on Texas Nonprofit Council